theterew.blogg.se

Beersmith estimated mash ph
Beersmith estimated mash ph







If your alkalinity was around the same as Adelaide water averages of 44 mg/L as CaCO3 and your Ca level was a low 15 mg/L and Mg a low 5mg/L, your mash pH should have been around 5.75 or to be conservative 5.8. If your water has 0mg/L of anything (distilled water) this would give a mash pH of around 5.7. You don't state the brand of Vienna, but I'll assume the Lovibond is the same as Gladfield's at 3.7L. I question your mash pH reading of 6.37 due to the following you state 36L of mash liquor and 8.3 kg of grains. I will assume Sydney Prospect North water is typical for Australian surface water and not that high in total alkalinity. I emphasise needing accurate figures for your water volume, total alkalinity, calcium content and grist content. Of course the buffers in the grain resist the raising of the pH and need to be taken into account, but a good calculator with good accurate input data will predict a fairly reliable mash pH for you. You want to figure out an accurate figure of your water's total alkalinity (which consists of the buffers that will resist a lowering of your pH). In short 6 ml would be in the ball park.* Perhaps the 24ml suggested by BS was due to the acid setting being 10% rather than 96%?įirstly your water pH is fairly irrelevant (there is the exception of course). So my question, is the above expected and is >6ml phosphoric acid normal for double batches? I understand that there are a lot of variables, I just want to make sure I am on the right track.Įdit - Apologies, realised I should have put this in the water section, please move if needed. I left it there as I did not want to play around too much more as I would most likely bugger it up. I then added another 3ml, waited, and mash PH reduced to 5.6. Putting the actual mash PH figure into Beersmith, it recommended 24ml! I thought that just didn't sound right so I added 3ml, waited 10 mins and PH came down to 5.8. I forgot to get lactic acid last time I went to the LHBS but I do have 96% phosphoric acid which I used. Brun estimated PH of 5.43 and Beersmith estimated 5.66. Last brew day I plugged all figures into Brun water and also Beersmith. I typically double batch BIAB with 36L stike water and dunk sparge with 14L. Bit of background, I am using Sydney Prospect North water and have just purchased a Hanna PH meter. I'm just starting to dabble in water chemistry and would like some opinions on some conflicting information re mash PH.









Beersmith estimated mash ph